The Ache: Part 2

“I’ve heard it too many times to ignore it
It’s something that I’m supposed to be…
Someday we’ll find it…”
~ Kermit the Frog

Desire

Listen to the following two pieces of music:

How did they make you feel?

I imagine they awakened strong feelings in you. Feelings like wonder, tranquility, nostalgia, sadness, to name a few. I know they did for me.

There’s a YouTube video about Halo 5’s story that I watched recently. My takeaway from this video (at 8:36 — 9:07) is that Microsoft doesn’t care about artistic integrity.

Artistic integrity means to create art for the hell of it, not because you want profit. (Thank you, Urban Dictionary.)

The older I’ve gotten, the less tolerance I have for stories that are all style and no substance.

Warden
*cough*

It is obvious to me now that Microsoft doesn’t care about the Halo universe.

Halo Spartan4
When you realize he only wanted you for your money.

I’m not going to emotionally invest myself in a story that is being told for no other reason than $$$.

Business2
And then I said “We care about Halo.”

Life is too short to spend it experiencing hollow stories.

Halo Spartan5

I don’t know about you, but I want beauty, mystery, wonder, and empathy in my stories.

Only Yesterday4

For further reading: The Ache: Part 1

 

 

Leave a Reply

