Darkness: A Halo 5 Fan-Fic: Chapter 5

Darkness

Chapter 5: Conviction

Summary: Locke’s desire to find the truth pushes him over the edge.

It’s all connected.

The Master Chief’s disappearance.

The “anomaly” that ONI picked up in deep space.

I knew peacetime was too good to last. After all we (the human race) have been through.

First the Covenant. Then the Flood. Now this.

It’s enough to make a man…

*At this point Locke makes a gun with his fingers and points the “gun” at his open mouth*

But not me. Not now. Never.

I want to make one thing clear: I’m not crazy.

I know. I know. I know what I sound like.

But, believe me. I’m trying to do the right thing: I’m trying to keep humanity safe.

It’s just, in order to do that, I’ve got to go to a dark place. A place I might not return from. If there’s a chance I can keep humanity safe… After all, knowledge is power…

I’m getting on a ship tomorrow morning.

I’m going where this “anomaly” is.

I’m going to find Master Chief.

I’m going to find the truth.

This is Detective Locke, signing off.

 

And that is the end of Halo 5.

Onward, now, to Halo 6.

Thank you for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

