Darkness: A Halo 5 Fan-Fic: Chapter 1

Darkness

Chapter 1: For the Record

Summary: A mentally unstable Locke begins his hunt for answers.

Those were the years…

It’s hard to believe that this office was almost glassed by the Covenant. As I sit in my chair, the blinds partially open, listening to the rain, with only the light of my desk lamp to write by, I can’t imagine anything touching me here.

Nothing has been the same since the war ended. There are days I wish I was dead. Dying is easy. This…

Where do I start?

I’m going to find the truth, and end this.

I can’t stand not knowing. What happened. Where he went.

There’s nothing I can do tonight. And it’s that feeling of helplessness that is driving me crazy. Come morning, if I’m alive…if I don’t succumb to the temptation to open my desk, reach into it, and grab my gun…it’ll be a miracle.

“Miracle”?

Dammit. I don’t believe in miracles.

In case…that happens, whoever finds this:

This is the true story. Don’t believe what they’ll tell you. You know who I’m talking about.

This is Detective Locke, signing off.

Leave a Reply

