My Gaming Future

Note #1: Why, in this post, am I saying what I’m saying? The following posts explain why:

My review of Halo 5

How, in Halo 5, 343 ruined Cortana

Why the Halo series should have ended with Halo 4

Note #2: This post assumes that you know Halo 5’s story.

Note #3: This post is just me expressing my personal opinion.

Halo 5 is a blessing and a curse.

On the one hand, Halo 5 is a continuation of a series that I love.

Cortana Meme63

On the other hand, Halo 5 showed me that this series should not continue.

In my 18 years of gaming, Halo 5 holds the distinction of being the first game that pissed me off.

Cortana 70

There are games I love, or enjoy in a turn-off-your-brain-off-and-relax sort of way.

There are games that I thought were lackluster. Games that made me shrug my shoulders and go “Meh.” That I played for a little bit before selling to Gamestop.

But Halo 5 is something else.

Halo 5, I think, legitimately depressed me.

Cortana 52

For a week after its release, I found myself with a loss of appetite, going to bed later than I usually would, and feeling like the color had been sucked out of my life. Granted, there could be other reasons — known and unknown — for why I felt this way. But, at the very least, Halo 5 didn’t help matters.

I’m feeling better now. But, I cringe whenever I see something related to Halo 5.

Now the next big game on the horizon, it seems, is Fallout 4.

Fallout 4

Fallout 4, by all accounts, is worth the hype. I have no doubt that those who buy Fallout 4 will get their $60 worth.

But after the disappointment that is Halo 5, I’ve realized that I should be doing more with my time than immersing myself in the newest RPG.

Whisper of the Heart2

I’ve realized that I have to not let video games take up as much of my life now as I let them take up in the past. I’ve got to cut back.

I’ve got to re-prioritize my life.

Whisper of the Heart12

Enjoy life’s other pleasures.

Whisper of the Heart5

Get started on being the kind of person I want to be. No longer be content with just saying “Someday I’ll be…”

Whisper of the Heart8

And then I can game.

Cortana11

So, thank you, Halo 5.

Thank you for being a video game so bad that you made me realize “I’ve got to cut back on gaming.”

Whisper of the Heart7

Leave a Reply

