Thank You To The Halo Community

Note: Click Here for the piece of Cortana art that is in the thumbnail of this post.

In the past, I said I would call the Halo community the “Halo fandom” because I see a “community” as a group of people who are united for a cause. I didn’t see that with Halo. What I saw with Halo was a civil war: Pro-343 Halo fans and anti-343 Halo fans engaged in a duel to the death that raged across Facebook, the Halo sub-Reddit, Halo Waypoint, and YouTube.

Gummy Bears

I still do see that. But not to extent that I have in the past. And I am glad. Thus, I will now call the “Halo fandom” the “Halo community.”

I want to say thank you to the people who allowed me to become more involved in the Halo community.

Thank you to the admins of the Cortana Facebook page. Thank you for welcoming me into the fold. I am no longer a lone wolf Halo fan.

Werewolves

Thank you, in particular, to admin Yume and admin John Caboose. I don’t know you in real life, but you have shown me kindness and acceptance. I am glad to know you.

Thank you to Taras, of LateNightGaming.

Taras’ optimism for the future of Halo, and positivity, is an inspiration to me. More than once, he has helped me to see the error of my ways. He’s the kind of guy who won’t let anything get him down. And when he does make the occasional slip-up (no one is perfect, after all) he admits it: he takes responsibility for his actions and keeps on working to better himself and the lives of others.

Thank you to admin 117Heather, of the Halo Headquarters Facebook page. Thank you for letting me be a part of Halo Headquarters. You are a joy to work with on Halo-related awesomeness. 117Heather, when it comes to Halo, you dream big, and I don’t doubt that you will see your dreams come true.

I’ve been a Halo fan since Halo: CE came out, but it wasn’t until late last December that, in need of something to fill long stretches of free time as I hunted for a job, I decided to take part in the Halo community. I did this by “Liking” Halo fan Facebook pages and commenting on their posts. That is how I became an admin on the Cortana page. Admin John Caboose liked what I said about a piece of Cortana art, and soon after I was made an admin.

My time in the Halo community hasn’t been all peaches and cream, though.

Peaches

There was one Halo fan Facebook page I was as an admin for, which I will not name, where things didn’t go smoothly. I also continue to avoid the Halo sub-Reddit and Waypoint. I don’t want to have the same experience today that I had in those places months ago:

Meme11

I am thankful, though, for my less-than-awesome experience at that un-named Halo fan Facebook page, because it eventually led me here, to Halo Headquarters. And it’s all thanks to admin 117Heather.

The Halo community has given me the opportunity to be the writer I always wanted to be. The Halo community has given me a sense of, well, community: A sense that I belong to something bigger than myself. The Halo community is what I turned to during what was the darkest period of my life so far, and helped me to pull myself out of my misery.

Thank you.

Meme17

Leave a Reply

