Go Big Or Go Home: The Problem With Modern-Day Video Games

Note: This post is about the fact that there is no split-screen in Halo 5. I know talking about the fact that there is no split-screen in Halo 5 is like beating a dead horse, but I still wanted to give my two cents. There are some things you can’t put a price on. And memory-making is one of them.

You know what I don’t get?

What is the deal with 1080p and 60fps?

It makes no sense to me. What is so important about having a video game achieve 1080p and/or 60fps? I couldn’t care less what the resolution or frame rate of my video games is. Just make them fun.

Check these games out:

Pokemon: Yellow Version:

GoldenEye 007:

Mario Kart 64:

MechAssault:

You want to know one of the reasons why these games are so fun? Because hitting a technical benchmark like 1080p or 60fps was not #1 on the developers’ priority list. Making a fun game was. That’s what video games are supposed to be, after all: Fun. Yes, 1080p and 60fps do make my eyes happy. But I would never, in order to achieve it, cut out features that would make my game fu–

Oh…

Um.

Well…

Okay.

*Sigh*

The reason split-screen isn’t in Halo 5 is not only due to 343’s desire to hit 1080p and 60fps, but to also deliver massive battles and environments. I can understand that: There’s this mentality nowadays of “Go big or go home,” or “Bigger is better.”

But when video games have to cut out the game part (i.e., features like split-screen) than something, in my opinion, is wrong.

I’m still going to buy Halo 5. I’m still going to enjoy it with my older brother. (We’ll take turns on the campaign and multiplayer.)

But. I will always remember Halo 5 as the game that sacrificed quality for quantity.

And that makes me sad.

Cortana2

It also makes me sad that people whose first gaming experience is on the PlayStation 4 or Xbox One might never know what video games were like before the desire to hit technical benchmarks meant sacrificing the “game” in “video game.”

Leave a Reply

