Believe In Your Future: Part 2

Note: Click Here for Part 1

As you know, I do a series called “Cortana the Therapist.” As you know, too, the series is inspired YouTuber DRWolf001’s series, A Moment With Dr. Wolf.

The reason I write the Cortana the Therapist series is to:

  1. Help others.
  2. Help myself.

The A Moment With Dr. Wolf series has had a positive affect on me: It awakened in me a desire to help others. To make something of my life rather than sitting in front of a screen all day — whether that screen was on a computer, a TV, or a Nintendo DS. As a result, I am looking into being an English tutor. It is true that writing for this blog requires me to sit in front of a screen. However, I try and make make the most of my screen time.

I want to share with you the A Moment With Dr. Wolf episodes that have helped me the most, in one way or another:

I saw the positive affect that Dr. Wolf was having on people in the My Little Pony fandom, and I thought “The Halo fandom needs someone like that.” I don’t consider myself to be on the same level as Dr. Wolf, but I hope I have helped, and will continue to help, others through my writing.

I also write in order to help myself: To better understand the thoughts and feelings that are bouncing around in my head.

Why am I talking so much about thoughts and feelings? Here is why: A happy fandom is a prosperous fandom. And one way to attain happiness is to “Accept the things I can’t change, have the courage to change the things I can, and have the wisdom to know the difference.”* Dr. Wolf has helped me to do that.** And if I, through my writing, haven’t done the same for you, than may you find someone who does.

I want to end this post with a story:

12 years ago, Lord of the Rings mania was in full swing. Lord of the Rings merchandise was everywhere. I was a big fan. One of the Lord of the Rings games I had was The Third Age, for the Xbox. It was an RPG. I’d spend hours playing it. And the first time I’d played it was at my grandma’s house. One day, my older brother and cousin left my grandma’s back room — the home of the TV and Xbox — to go outside to wash her car. The Xbox being vacant, what I did next isn’t surprising: I popped in The Third Age. But, after a while, a feeling stirred in me. A feeling that said “Go outside.” I got up, went outside, and stood in the driveway. The car-washing was well underway. “Come on, Tim. Join us,” My older brother said, hose in hand, while my cousin lathered my grandma’s car with more soap. I said “No.” And went right back to what I had been doing. The blinds closed in order to keep out the sun, I hunkered down for more Third Age. To this day, I wish I had turned off the Xbox and gone outside. It is my biggest regret. You might be thinking “That’s your biggest regret? That’s nothing.” Relatively, yes, it’s nothing. But it’s not nothing to me.

My point with this story is this: All things in moderation.

What does this have to do with the Halo series in general and Halo 5 in particular? This:

Learn from my mistake: Don’t squander time with family or loved ones in order to play one more multiplayer match, get one more achievement, or beat one more level. No game is worth it.

*This quote is attributed to the theologian Reinhold Niebuhr.

**Accepting the things I can’t change, having the courage to change the things I can, and having the wisdom to know the difference, is a lifelong struggle.

Leave a Reply

