Something a Little Different: Why I Don’t Like the Term “Fanboy”

Destiny2

With the release of The Taken King expansion for Destiny, and the influx of “People still play Destiny?” comments on social media, that got me thinking: This is why I don’t like the term “fanboy.”

Why would I be thinking that, you wonder?

In order to answer that question, I must first answer another:

What do I mean when I say “fanboy”?

I mean this:

To me, the word “fanboy” brings to mind a person who will trash what they are not a fan of and hold up what they are a fan of as the greatest thing since sliced bread.

Bread

I don’t like the term “fanboy” for two reasons:

  1. I’m not going to bash a game or its fans just because I, personally, am not a fan of that game. (The same goes for not just games, but for anything.)
  2. I’m not going to not criticize something just because I’m a fan of it.

The reason I was thinking of the term “fanboy” when I saw peoples’ reactions to The Taken King:

  1. People were bashing others purely for being fans of Destiny.
  2. People were holding up what they are a fan of as, compared to Destiny, the greatest thing since sliced bread.

To further explain my thoughts on The Taken King, and the term “fanboy”:

I understand why people are fans of Destiny. And because of that, I’m not going to hop online and say something like “Destiny iz fur scrubs loooooooooool!”

If I dislike an entry in a series that I’m a fan of, than I will not hold back in my criticism just because I’m a fan. For example: I’m looking forward to Halo 5. I think it’ll be a good game. But if I find any part of that game lacking, for whatever reason, I’m not going to sweep my thoughts on it under the rug just because I’m a Halo fan. And I’m not going to just say “This game is bad!” I’m going to explain why I think what I think about Halo 5 in the most calm and clear way that I can.

On a related note:

I’m a fan of the 2014 version of Godzilla.

The reason I bring this up is because I know that movie was controversial: Like Destiny, some people love it, and some people hate it.

Godzilla3

My point being: I know what it’s like to be a fan of something that gets a lot of hate. I’m sure you do, too.

The reason I am bringing up Godzilla, when I’m talking about The Taken King, on a blog devoted to Halo, is this: We all have things we’re a fan of. Some things receive more criticism than others, too. However: That is no reason to look down on someone because they’re a fan of something you’re not — to essentially say to a person, “Your taste sucks.”

Saying “This sucks. And you suck for liking it,” is not constructive. The only thing it accomplishes is division, anger, and pain.

Leave a Reply

