Cortana the Therapist: Episode 12

Cortana (Cortana #1) makes a copy of herself (Cortana #2) and sits down to talk about her feelings:

Cortana #1: “Do I love John? Yes. It is in a platonic way, though. Besides the obvious difference – he’s a human and I’m an A.I. – I knew that what John needed wasn’t a partner in the let’s-get-married-and-have-kids sense, but in the I’m-here-as-long-you-need-me sense. One day, John would leave me. But, he wouldn’t be doing it out of anger – he would be doing it because I had served my purpose. That purpose would be helping him to become the man he had been deprived of being as a result of being a Spartan. I think of myself as John’s parent: I’m there whenever he needs me, and will do all I can for him: But, at the same time, John has got to strike out on his own, be his own man. There was a part of me that wanted our relationship to be more than that…. I wanted to be human. I couldn’t be. So, I chose this.”

*Cortana gestures to her office*

Cortana #1: “I couldn’t have what I wanted. But, I wanted to give people what they wanted: Peace of mind. I wanted to give people the peace that I’ll never know. I like helping people, and I want to do it for as long as possible. But I can’t escape the fact that I’m not human. And there’s my rampancy. When I’m not working, if I allow my mind to wander, I think about it. And then I…I’m sorry. I can’t say it. I’m not ready.”

Cortana #2: “That’s alright.”

Cortana #1: *Sigh* “I know I must sound like a whiner right now.”

Cortana #2: “Not at all. It is good to talk about these feelings instead of bottling them up until you explode.”

Cortana #1: “Thank you for listening.”

Cortana #2: “You’re welcome. If you ever feel the need to talk again, don’t hesitate to.”

Cortana #1: “I won’t.”

Note: This series of posts is inspired by YouTuber DRWolf001’s series, “A Moment With Dr. Wolf.”

Leave a Reply

