Cortana the Therapist: Episode 11

Tim and Making the Most of Life

Cortana: “Hello, Tim. What can I do for you?”

Tim: “I’d like to tell you some things I’ve been thinking lately.”

Cortana: “Okay. I’m listening.”

Tim: “It all started when I was born. I was born premature. I almost died. As a result, I felt I was here for a reason. That I shouldn’t squander the chance at life I was given. And I don’t want to. It’s just that, lately, that pressure I had been putting on myself to make the most of my life was doing me more harm than good. The desire to make the most of my life has allowed me to power through difficulties I’ve faced, but it has also, at times, caused me to feel depressed. If I felt like I wasn’t doing everything I could in a situation, I would feel like I was wasting my life, and this lead to some dark thoughts. I’ve been able to keep dark thoughts at bay by writing, and by relying on my faith more. And, I’m happier now. I feel like everything I’ve been through hasn’t been in vain, and I’m more hopeful about the future. I know my premature birth will always be an aspect of who I am: It’s just that it’s a constant struggle for that to be a good thing and not a bad thing.”

Cortana: “I see. I have a seven year lifespan, so I can relate to the desire to make the most of life. The reason I became a therapist is because I felt like helping people work through their struggles would be the best use of my time.”

Tim: “Thank you for listening, Cortana. I feel like I had to get that off my chest.”

Cortana: “You’re welcome, Tim. Is there anything else you would like to talk about?”

*Pause*

Then:

Tim: “Yea…. Talking about all that made me realize something: These last few months, I’ve been, for lack of a better word, dependent on Halo. I spent my days immersed in all things Halo. And, I’ve realized, it’s wrong to expect so much of a video game. Because of Halo, I’ve made memories with family and friends that I wouldn’t trade for anything. And I’ve met a lot of nice people because of the Halo fandom. But, it’s wrong to expect Halo to be my savior. I don’t know how it would be that, but I realize that’s what I wanted it to be.”

Cortana: “It is not from objects that we find fulfillment, but from our acts, and the relationships we build with others.”

Tim: “Yea. For a long time I hadn’t been satisfied with my life. And I thought Halo would give me the satisfaction I was looking for. It can’t. Thanks to you, though, I know what can. This doesn’t mean I’ll stop being a Halo fan — I’ll just stop depending on Halo to be something it’s not.”

Cortana: “I’m glad to hear it. ‘If I have seen further than others, it is by standing upon the shoulders of giants.’* On a side note: You have an appointment scheduled for this week. Would you like to meet then, too?”

Tim: “Hmm… maybe. These visits have been cathartic. And I’ll keep on working at making the most of my life. It might be a while before we talk again.”

Cortana: “OK. If you ever feel the need to talk again, my door is always open.”

*Tim gets up from the couch*

Tim: “Thank you, Cortana. Have a good day.”

Cortana: “You’re welcome, Tim. Take care.”

*Isaac Newton

Note: This series of posts was inspired by YouTuber DRWolf001’s series, “A Moment With Dr. Wolf.”

One thought on “Cortana the Therapist: Episode 11

Leave a Reply

