Cortana the Therapist: Episode 10

Tim and Listening

Cortana: “Welcome back, Tim. It’s been a while.”

Tim: *Sigh* “Yea….”

Cortana: “Is something bothering you?”

Tim: “I want to help people like you do, Cortana. But I don’t know how.”

Cortana: “I’m flattered. What are your reasons for wanting this?”

Tim: “Well, I spend so much of my time in front of a computer, relaxing. I have a lot of free time. One day, though, I realized I didn’t want to just spend my life sitting in front of a screen. I didn’t want to turn into the stereotypical malnourished, lazy slob who sits in front of a computer all day. I wanted my life to mean something. That…and I realized the toll the life I was living was taking on my family. I know my family will always love me, but I also know they want me to get my butt off the couch.”

Cortana: “I see. Your desire to help others stems from a desire to make something of your life – something you weren’t accomplishing by spending time on the computer.”

Tim: “Yea. But, I don’t know how to do that. As a result, I find myself falling back into my old habits, but still holding onto my dream of helping people like you do.”

Cortana: “Oh, I’m still learning how to help people. You, and my other patients, are constantly teaching me: I’m always learning new things about others, my profession, and myself. If you want to learn to help people like I am trying to, first learn to listen.”

Tim: “Just listen while a person talks?”

Cortana: “Yes. Listening, without interrupting, is necessary in order to understand where others are coming from. Understanding where others are coming from – that’s called empathizing. Once you empathize with a person, you can begin to help them work through their struggles.”

Tim: “This is going to be tougher than I thought…. I haven’t been good at just listening – keeping my mouth shut when necessary. *Sigh* But, I’ll keep on trying.”

Cortana: “I’ve found that a tendency to interrupt comes from pride – an attitude of ‘Stop. I know best.'”

Tim: “Yea…. But, I don’t want to feel that way. Pride is another thing I struggle with.”

Cortana: “It is good that you acknowledge your shortcomings, Tim. And, realizing you need to change takes humility. Shall we continue this next week?”

Tim: “Yes.”

*Tim gets up from the couch*

Tim: “Thank you, Cortana. I’ll see you next week.”

Cortana: “You’re welcome, Tim. Take care.”

Note: This series of posts is inspired by YouTuber DRWolf001’s series, “A Moment With Dr. Wolf.”

Leave a Reply

