Cortana the Therapist: Episode 8

Young Man and the Real World

Cortana: “Hello young man. Is there anything you’d like to talk about?”

Young Man: “I’d like to talk to you about my friend some more – about another aspect of our friendship that I hadn’t mentioned during my last appointment.”

Cortana: “Okay. Let’s begin.”

Young Man: “There’s this fear I have of me ruining our friendship. Whenever we hang out, I’ve realized that there are moments where I’m not really ‘there’ – I’m surfing the internet on my phone. I do it to avoid any awkwardness, or to give myself something new to focus on. But after time, I’ve realized, those moments build up – they take away from my memories of the fun we had.”

Cortana: “Hmm. You’re worried that your phone is sucking away the time you’re spending with your friend?”

Young Man: “Yes.”

Cortana: “I could tell you that the simplest solution is to shut your phone off and put it somewhere where you won’t be tempted to look at it, but I have a feeling that there is more to this issue.”

Young Man: “It’s…it’s not just my phone that is the problem…. I spend a lot of my time online. It’s like a second life. I know my life online isn’t real in the same way that, for example, the conversation you and I are having right now is real, but I feel like the only way I can be the person I want to be is by being online.”

Cortana: “The world is, ultimately, not on our computers, or on our phones. It’s in nature. And in the relationships and memories we make with other people, and the impression we leave on them after we die. If you want to make the most of your life, first realize that you don’t need to be online in order to do that.”

Young Man: “Okay…. I think I understand what you’re saying.”

Cortana: “If there is one thing I hope you take away from our conversation today, it is that the internet is ultimately no substitute for the real world, or the relationships that are made in it. On another note: This week’s scheduled appointment. Now that you’ve come in today, do you still want to meet then, too?”

Young Man: “Yes.”

Cortana: “Alright. And if you ever feel the need to talk between appointments again, my door is always open. Is there anything else you’d like to talk about today?”

Young Man: “No, I’m good for right now. Thank you for talking with me, Cortana. I’ll think about what you’ve said.”

Cortana: “Glad to hear it. Take care, young man.”

Note: This series of posts is inspired by the “A Moment With Doctor Wolf” series by YouTuber DRWolf001.

Leave a Reply

