Cortana the Therapist: Episode 1

Tim and the Halo Fandom

Cortana: “So, Tim, tell me what’s on your mind.”

Tim: “In December, I got into the Halo fandom. I’ve been a fan of the series since the first game came out, but it was only in December of this year that I took a look at the fandom – the art, the fiction, the music, the cosplays, and the machinimas. And, I realized something: The Halo fandom is dying. Halo fans are divided about 343, the MCC, and Halo 5. For a game that’s rated M for Mature, at times the fans act immature, and unpleasant. It’s gotten to the point where I’ve considered leaving the fandom altogether.”

Cortana: “Hmm. Surely every Halo fan doesn’t come across as immature or unpleasant.”

Tim: “That’s true. I’ve met, and become acquaintances with, a lot of people online – all of them because of the Halo fandom. Obviously there’s no way of numbering the…jerks…in the Halo fandom. I just get frustrated though when I run into a…jerk, though. I’m thinking, ‘Why can’t we have a civil discussion? Why do you insist on running me down without giving me a reason why? I don’t care if you disagree with me on anything Halo-related – just give me your reasons why. Is it so hard to do that?’ The internet, with its anonymity, brings out the worst in people…. And I would be lying if I said it doesn’t sometimes bring out the worst in me, too. *Sigh* I know earlier I said I was considering leaving the Halo fandom. I’d like to back up on that statement. I’ve left the Halo Reddit because I’m tired of dealing with the hostility there. I haven’t been on Waypoint much, and I wouldn’t continue to go there if it weren’t for the weekly bulletins. I’ve heard Waypoint can be as bad as Reddit, and I’m not going to try and confirm or deny that. I interact with the Halo fandom on Facebook. The fans there have been welcoming, and enjoyed what I’ve had to say. And even when they don’t agree with me on something, they’ve offered constructive criticism. That’s why I want to save the Halo fandom, any way I can.”

Cortana: “And how have you been trying to ‘save’ the Halo fandom?”

Tim: “I post art that others have created, post the latest news, and share my thoughts on the Halo series. I’ve seen so many Halo fan pages with posts like ‘What is your favorite multiplayer map?’ and, not to knock the people who post such things, I wanted to give people something else, a new perspective on the Halo series – make people think about Halo in ways they might not have before. *Sigh* I feel like I’m doing all the talking.”

Cortana: “That’s alright. Sometimes the best thing you can do is just listen while a person talks about their struggles. A rule I’m trying to live by is ‘Know when to speak, know when to listen.’”

Tim: “Well, thank you for listening, Cortana. This was cathartic. I feel like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders.”

Cortana: “You’re welcome, Tim. Shall we continue this next week?”

Tim: “Hmm…. Maybe. I feel like I’ve finally been able to say everything I’ve felt the need to say.”

Cortana: “Alright. If you ever feel the need to talk again, my door is always open.”

*Tim gets up from the couch*

Tim: “Thank you, Cortana. Have a good day.”

Cortana: “You’re welcome. Take care, Tim.”

Note: YouTuber DRWolf001’s video series, A Moment With Dr. Wolf, was the inspiration for this series, Cortana the Therapist.

Leave a Reply

